everything we know about our favorite four letter word.

Rules Quiz Q2

Congratulations to Tim for answering the first rules question correctly!   Lets try another one:
A player played his second shot to a blind green and putted what he thought was his ball in two putts. He then discovered that his own ball was in the hole and that the ball he had putted was a wrong ball. What is his score on the hole?

Advertisements

7 responses

  1. Molly

    The player may play a provisional ball until he reaches the place where the original ball is likely to be. If he makes a stroke with the provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes the ball in play

    April 18, 2011 at 10:20 am

    • smcclure70

      True, but in this case the player never declared a provisional. So what is the players score on the hole?

      April 18, 2011 at 10:59 am

  2. jeremy holtz

    I would say he takes a 4. Since he made a stroke on the wrong ball he takes a 2 stroke penalty and must play his own ball.

    April 18, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    • Shane

      Jeremy you are incorrect.

      April 18, 2011 at 4:19 pm

  3. jeremy holtz

    alright how bout he takes a 2 for holing out on his second shot

    April 18, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    • Shane

      Way to go Jeremy! That is correct.
      Since the play of the hole was completed when the original ball was holed(Rule 1-1), the player was not in breach of Rule 15-3 for subsequently playing a wrong ball.

      April 18, 2011 at 6:15 pm

  4. jeremy holtz

    BOOM! thats how i roll!

    April 18, 2011 at 6:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s